Popular

Here's How to Celebrate World Ballet Day Tomorrow

A screenshot from San Francisco Ballet's 2015 World Ballet Day live stream

World Ballet Day is BACK, dance friends! Tomorrow, October 5, five top-notch ballet companies—The Australian Ballet, the Bolshoi Ballet, The Royal Ballet, The National Ballet of Canada, and San Francisco Ballet—will host a 22-hour (!) live stream, bringing viewers inside their classes, rehearsals, and backstage preparations. Ten additional ballet companies will join the hosting orgs for guest appearances. It's the fourth year we've been gifted this ballet present, and 2017's version looks to be bigger and more beautiful than ever before.


So, how can you get in on the amazingness? You can watch the stream from almost literally anywhere: on the World Ballet Day website, or the YouTube channels of each of the participating companies, or Facebook. And you can start tonight, actually: The Australian Ballet will kick off the live stream at 6 pm PST/9 pm EST today, October 4 (aka 1 pm on October 5th in Melbourne). Here's the whole schedule:

The Australian Ballet: 6 pm PST/9 pm EST to 11 pm PST/2 am EST
Bolshoi Ballet: 11 pm PST/2 am EST to 4 am PST/7 am EST
The Royal Ballet: 4 am PST/7 am EST to 9 am PST/12 pm EST
The National Ballet of Canada: 9 am PST/12 pm to 11 am PST/2 pm EST
San Francisco Ballet: 11 am PST/1 pm EST to 4 pm PST/7 pm EST

Yes, that's a LOT, even for die-hard bunheads. But don't worry. If you're not intrepid enough to make it through all 22 hours of footage (or, you know, have school/work/actual ballet classes of your own to get to), you can watch highlights from the broadcasts later in the World Ballet Day video archive. In fact, head to the archive now to check out footage from past years' broadcasts, which is the perfect way to get excited for WBD '17. And check out this year's official trailer:

Dancer to Dancer

Much of Janelle Ginestra's career has been about helping others shine. She's dedicated herself to supporting and cheerleading her partner, WilldaBeast Adams; the emerging talents in their dance company, ImmaBEAST; and the countless dancers she inspires at master classes and conventions. Her YouTube channel has become a launching pad for young talents like "Fraternal Twins" Larsen Thompson and Taylor Hatala, thanks to viral videos featuring Ginestra's creative vision.

But Ginestra's a skyrocketing success in her own right—an in-demand choreographer, a social media influencer, and a dance entrepreneur, building a legacy one eight-count at a time. It's time for her turn in the spotlight. And she's more than ready. "I want to be a legend in whatever I do," she says. We'd argue that she already is.

Keep reading... Show less
Win It
Courtesy CAA

You read that right, people—Dance Spirit's giving away two tickets to the "SYTYCD" tour in the city of your choice, complete with an exclusive meet & greet with select cast members! Read on for the complete prize listing and official rules.

Keep reading... Show less

Week five of "Dancing with the Stars" proved to be one of the best weeks of the season so far. (And we're not just saying that because Mickey made a cameo debut on the piano during one of the routines—although that certainly didn't hurt!) Everyone brought their A-game, and with such a fun theme the contestants were able to really let their guards down. There was true sincerity in their dancing that we hadn't seen before. But not all Disney stories end with a "happily ever after," and one couple still had to hang up their dancing shoes.

If there's one week you should watch all the routines of it's undoubtedly this one... But, ICYMI, scroll below for our highlights of the night.

Keep reading... Show less
Via Facebook

Almost a month out, Puerto Rico continues to suffer the devastating aftereffects of Hurricane Maria. Many of the island's residents still lack power, clean water, and safe housing. Ballet classes? For Puerto Rican dance students, they must feel like an impossible luxury.

But a dance studio in Florida is working to allow a group of young Puerto Ricans to continue their training. And it needs your help.

Keep reading... Show less
Gianluca Russo (via Instagram)

Yes, I am a dancer, and yes, I am fat.

There's nothing quite as soul-crushing as the reactions I've received when I've told people I dance. They can range from disbelief to confusion to shock. To many people, it's somehow incomprehensible that a plus-size person like myself could grace a stage. While the body-positive movement has been trucking along at full force over the past few years, it hasn't made much progress in the dance community yet. In fact, the words "body positivity" and "dance" are almost never used together in the same sentence.

Despite that fact, dance is what helped me learn to love my larger frame. In honor of National Body Confidence Day, I wanted to talk about my first time in a studio, and about the tremendous progress I've made since.

Keep reading... Show less

Okay, so it's also Friday the 13th. (Eek! Be sure not to let any black cats cross your path on the way to the studio!)

Keep reading... Show less
Dancer to Dancer

If you've ever seen a Janelle Ginestra class video, you know how lit her combos are. What you don't see in those clips is how devoted Ginestra is to her students. We went behind the scenes at one of her sold-out IMMA SPACE classes to see Ginestra in her element, mentoring some of L.A.'s most talented dancers. It was an inspiration feedback loop.

All photos by Joe Toreno.

Keep reading... Show less
Dancer to Dancer

In our "Dear Katie" series, former NYCB soloist Kathryn Morgan answers your pressing dance questions. Have something you want to ask Katie? Email dearkatie@dancespirit.com for a chance to be featured!

Dear Katie,

I love ballet, and I've been told that I have a lot of potential. I can see myself dancing professionally one day. But I'm also working toward my black belt in karate—and I'm passionate about that, too. How can I keep up my technique while also making time for the other things I love? Is that even possible?

Megan

Keep reading... Show less

Sponsored

Want to Be on Our Cover?

covermodelsearch-image

Video

Sponsored

mailbox

Get Dance Spirit in your inbox

Sponsored